sub banner image

Consequences for Multiple Duis in Tennessee?

Tennessee is ranked high on the list for drunk driving cases, with 26.75 percent of traffic fatalities being caused by an intoxicated driver. Understandably, the Tennessee legislature imposes harsh punishments for those driving under the influence. If you have prior convictions, mandatory jail time and fines increase, along with other driving-related penalties.

If you have recently been charged with a DUI, your first line of defense should be to speak with a Nashville DUI lawyer.

Penalties for Multiple DUIs

Jail time, fines, and revocation of your license will depend upon many factors, including if you have prior offenses.

First DUI Offense

  • Mandatory imprisonment of 48 hours to 11 months, 29 days in jail
  • If BAC is 0.2 percent or greater, a minimum of 7 consecutive days in jail
  • $350-$1,500 fine
  • License revocation for one year with restricted license available
  • Participation in alcohol and drug treatment program
  • Ignition interlock device installed at your expense
  • Restitution to the victim for any physical injury or personal losses
  • Total fees that could add up to $4,900

Second DUI Offense

  • Mandatory imprisonment of 45 days to 11 months, 29 days
  • $600-$3,500 fine
  • License revocation for two years with restricted license available
  • Vehicle may be seized or forfeited
  • Mandatory alcohol and drug treatment program
  • If there are two DUI convictions within a five-year period, an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) is required for six months after license reinstatement

Third DUI Offense

  • Mandatory imprisonment of 120 days to 11 months, 29 days
  • License revocation for six years with restricted license available
  • Vehicle may be seized or forfeited
  • $1,100 to $10,000 in mandatory fines
  • If there are two DUI convictions within a five-year period, IID is required for six months after license reinstatement
  • Mandatory alcohol and drug treatment program

Fourth DUI and Subsequent DUI Offenses

  • A Class E felony if you have three or more DUI convictions within a ten-year period
  • Imprisonment of 365 days (minimum of 150 consecutive days served), up to six years in jail
  • $3,000 to $15,000 in mandatory fines
  • License revocation for eight years, with a restricted license available
  • Vehicle may be seized or forfeited
  • If there are two DUI convictions within a five-year period, IID is required for six months after license reinstatement

How Can a DUI Lawyer Help Me?

A DUI conviction comes with penalties that can affect your life well after your prison sentence is served, and fines are paid. Even if the court approves a restricted license, you will only be able to drive your children to school, to work, and to any court-ordered treatment programs. Any other traveling beyond that will be prohibited.

In hiring a Nashville DUI lawyer, you are hiring someone who is devoted to the best possible outcome in your case. At Andrew C. Beasley, PLLC, our DUI lawyer will conduct a thorough investigation to determine if your DUI charge is valid. If your arrest was based upon insufficient evidence or a procedural error, our firm will work to get the charges against you dropped.

Speak with Our Nashville, TN, DUI Lawyer Today

A DUI can impact your future. If you have been arrested or charged with a DUI, now is the time to speak with our Nashville DUI lawyer. To schedule your complimentary consultation, contact the office at 615-894-6753 or by filling out our online contact form.

Get In Touch With Us

By checking this box you agree to receive text messages at the number provided