sub banner image

Which Drug Crimes Are Misdemeanors?

Tennessee takes drug crimes very seriously, and even those charges that are classified as misdemeanors can lead to serious consequences that can prove life-altering. If you’re facing a drug charge of any kind, you shouldn’t delay consulting with an experienced Nashville criminal defense attorney.

Simple Possession

Simple possession refers to having a small amount of an illegal drug in your possession that is intended for personal use, and it’s classified as a misdemeanor – regardless of the kind of drug involved. A conviction carries up to 11 months and 29 days behind bars and fines of up to $2,500. If the offense isn’t your first, however, the kind of drug in your possession will make a difference in the charge. Possession of a Schedule I drug, for example, can be charged as a felony.

Tennessee Drug Schedules

Like other states and the federal government, Tennessee breaks illegal drugs into schedules that include the following:

  • Schedule I drugs are considered the most serious because they’re closely associated with addiction and lack any legitimate medical purpose. Examples include heroin and LSD.
  • Schedule II drugs are classified as being frequently abused but retain some medical use. Examples include cocaine, methamphetamine, and opiates.
  • Schedule III drugs, though less dangerous, are still frequently abused. Examples include anabolic steroids and ketamine.
  • Schedule IV drugs are frequently prescribed but carry some risk of dependency. Examples include Klonopin, Xanax, and Valium.
  • Schedule V drugs tend not to be addictive, but there is the potential for abuse. These medications contain limited amounts of opium.
  • Schedule VI drugs include marijuana, THC, and synthetic equivalents. In the State of Tennessee, marijuana is illegal for recreational and medicinal purposes – other than under very limited circumstances. Most marijuana charges in the state are felonies.

Simple Possession of Marijuana

Simple possession of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor in Tennessee, but the dividing line is a mere half ounce. In addition to potential jail time and steep fines, a conviction can carry all the following:

  • A requirement to attend drug offender school
  • A community service requirement

If the marijuana in question reaches the half-ounce threshold, a charge of possession with intent to sell, which is a felony, can apply. Tennessee has some of the harshest penalties in the nation for marijuana charges, which makes having seasoned legal guidance paramount.

Speak to an Experienced Nashville Criminal Defense Attorney Today

A drug conviction in Tennessee can have especially harsh legal and social consequences. In fact, even a misdemeanor conviction carries the potential of up to nearly a year in jail. If you find yourself in the difficult position of facing a drug charge, Andrew Beasley at Andrew C. Beasley, PLLC – proudly serving Nashville – is an accomplished criminal defense attorney with the added benefit of a background in prosecution that leaves him especially well-positioned to help you. Your case is too important to leave to chance, so please don’t wait to reach out and contact us online or call us at 615-620-5803 for more information about what we can do for you today.

Get In Touch With Us

By checking this box you agree to receive text messages at the number provided