Skip to Main Content
Statutory Rape

Statutory Rape Lawyer in Nashville, TN

Statutory rape is unlawful sexual activity with a minor. In Tennessee, penalties for statutory rape are severe, carrying jail time, steep fines, community service, and even requiring that you register on the sex offender registry.

Unlike other sexual charges, you can be charged with statutory rape even if the underage person consents or if you were unaware of their minor status.

If you have been charged with statutory rape, there is no time to waste. Do not hesitate to contact an experienced statutory rape lawyer in Nashville, TN, who can safeguard your rights.

Types of Statutory Rape Charges

Tennessee Code §39-13-506 recognizes the following types of statutory rape charges

Statutory Rape

Statutory rape is the sexual penetration between an adult and someone who has not reached the age of consent. You will be charged with statutory rape if the victim is 13 or 14 years old and you are at least four years older or if the victim is 15-17 years old and you are at least five years older than the victim.

Statutory rape is classified as a class E felony, with a potential prison sentence of one to six years and a maximum fine of $3,000.

Mitigated Statutory Rape

Unlawful sexual penetration between two persons when the victim is 15-17 years old and the defendant is four or five years older. Like statutory rape, mitigated statutory rape is a class E felony, which carries a prison sentence of one to six years and a potential $3,000 fine.

Aggravated Statutory Rape

Aggravated statutory rape is the unlawful sexual penetration between two individuals when the victim is between 13-17 years old, and the defendant is at least ten years older than the victim.

Unlike statutory rape and mitigated statutory rape, aggravated statutory rape is a class D felony. A class D felony conviction carries an incarceration period between two to 12 years and a maximum fine of $5,000. If you are convicted of aggravated statutory rape, you will be required to register as a sex offender.

Tennessee Sex Offender Registry

If you have been convicted of any of the following offenses in Tennessee, you will be required to register on the sex offender registry:

  • Sexual battery
  • Aggravated prostitution
  • Kidnapping of a minor
  • Solicitation of a minor
  • Indecent exposure
  • Use of a minor for obscene purposes
  • Assault with intent to commit rape or sexual battery and
  • Aggravated statutory rape

As a registered sex offender, you will have your personal information, such as past and current addresses, nicknames, date of birth, a physical description, and a photograph posted to the Tennessee sex offender registry website. This website is public information, easily ruining your reputation in your community.

Speak with our Nashville, TN, Statutory Rape Lawyer Soon

A statutory rape conviction can result in devastating consequences. Our Nashville statutory rape lawyer will take all measures to defend the charges brought against you to protect your freedom. Contact Andrew C. Beasley, PLLC, today online or by phone to schedule your free consultation.

Begin Building Your Defense Today


Contact us today to set up an appointment with one of our attorneys for a free case review. We can start building a solid defense for your unique situation from there!

Contact us