we are your domestic violence law firm
Domestic Violence Attorney in Nashville
Arrested In Nashville for Domestic Violence? Call Today!
Sometimes domestic violence charges are brought against someone due to a situation that escalated out of control, the person was intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance, or even to gain an advantage in divorce or child custody proceedings. In some cases, the charges are completely unfounded.
Beware that any charge of domestic violence assault in Tennessee constitutes a serious crime of violence. A conviction will result in the loss of certain civil rights including a lifetime ban on the right to possess a firearm. Tennessee law provides for an expanding list of crimes considered acts of domestic violence when committed against individuals with a "domestic" connection.
Work with an Experienced Defense Attorney & Former Prosecutor
As a former prosecutor, I am constantly utilizing my background to fight for the rights of my clients. I prosecuted numerous felony cases in the past and now use this insight to build powerful defense cases.
If you need a powerful defense for a domestic violence case, reach out to my firm where my experience can prove invaluable.
Violation of a Protective Order
A violation of a protective order is defined as a knowing violation of a protective order under T.C.A. § 36-3-606. Examples of these offenses can include refusing to vacate the shared home; going to the petitioner's work, school, or residence; committing an act of domestic violence against the petitioner; contacting the petitioner; coming within a certain distance of the petitioner's vehicle, or destroying the petitioner's personal property.
Any such violation is a Class A Misdemeanor. The firm also works with individuals and families who have to go through protective order hearings. These hearings are used primarily to look into the facts of the case to see if the protective order itself is warranted and necessary.
Domestic Violence Penalties in Tennessee
- Class A Misdemeanor - 11 months 29 days in Tennessee jail, and/or incur fines up to $2,500
- Class D Felony - Prison time up to 12 years and/or fines up to $5,000
- Class C Felony - Prison time up to 15 years and/or fines up to $10,000
Although seeking out information on the internet is an important start to finding general information, absolutely no substitute exists for speaking directly with a Nashville criminal attorney to obtain advice based on your facts and circumstances.
You may need to act quickly to preserve certain evidence and protect your rights. Protect your rights and your family by hiring an experienced attorney.
Call (615) 274-4009 to learn about your options during a FREE CONSULTATION!